Posted by: viewfromtheriva | September 25, 2016

Going nuts in Croatia–peanuts!


Our first crop!

Our first crop!

Ever since I was  a kid  I have loved nuts…almond, walnuts, cashews and above all, peanuts…..it’s probably why I voted for Jimmy Carter, love the Dodgers (never forgot the hot bag of goobers in the shell from my first visit to Ebbets Field when I was 13)….I even SOLD peanuts from a home made cart in front of Brown University because I thought it was cool (unfortunately, only sold 5 bags, so had to roll 20 pounds back home).

So now that we have bought our first house here in Croatia, we decided to take some store bought peanuts, sprout them and do a test—Natasha planted THREE of them back in late May.

Peanuts usually take 100 days, so now that we are pushing 120, I decided to dig them up today.

And wowee–a nice fat clump of about 30….I couldn’t resist, so peeled one and ate in raw on the spot.

Several hours have passed and I am still alive and Natasha says I absolutely do not have peanut breath.

The guide on peanut growing says we now have to hang them out to dry for two weeks and then we can eat them, roast them, or if you like boiled peanuts like folks down south, boil them with salt.

Next year we plan to do peanuts big time….just too bad I don’t have that cart anymore. Peanuts here in Croatia are $2 pound and most are imported from as far away as Argentina!

We have three terraced parcels of land, and this one, the first, has almond and walnut trees!  So next year, we'll plant peanuts here and really go nuts!

We have three terraced parcels of land, and this one, the first, has almond and walnut trees! So next year, we’ll plant peanuts here and really go nuts!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

